Where is the Monterrey Open? Who are Women’s Champions

Mountain view of Monterrey

The city of the mountains, Monterrey is located in Northeastern Mexico. A history city was set up by Diego de Monte mayor in 1596. Monterrey is an industrial capital of Mexico. Also, the capital of Nuevo Leon state in Mexico. Monterrey Open Tennis was founded in 2009. It is a Hard Court surface. The part of the International Tournaments in the WTA Tour.

Who won singles Monterrey Open title in 2019-2009

Anastasia is seeing the ball
Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova

2019- Former No.1 player Garbine Muguruza won the title in the 11th edition of Monterrey Open. In the meantime, The Spanish faced Belarus Professional Tennis player Victoria Azarenka in the finals. When the score was (6-1, 3-1) Azarenka retired from the match.

2018- The first time, Garbine Muguruza lifted the singles title in Monterrey Tennis. However, She beat a Hungarian player Timea Babos by a score of 2-1(3-6, 6-4, 6-3) in finals.

Most time Winner of Monterrey Open Tennis

2017- Moreover, Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova found her fourth Monterrey Open title. The second time, She met Former No.1  Angelique Kerber in the finals. Eventually, Anastasia claimed the title by the final score of 2-1(6-4, 2-6, 6-1).   

2016- Heather Watson of Britain won the title in the 8th edition of Monterrey Open. At the same time, She beat Kirsten Flipkens(Belgium) in the final 2-1(3-6, 6-2, 6-3).

2015- Timea Bacsinszky is a prize winner. In the final match, Timea overcame a French hope, Caroline Garcia, to this end of 2-1(4-6, 6-2, 6-4).

2014- Former Rolland-Garros Champion, Ana Ivanovic dominated in the Monterrey Open. Although, Ana seized fellow Serbian Jovana Jaksic in finals. As a result of 2-0(6-2, 6-1).

2013- Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova(Russia) beat Angelique Kerber(Germany).

2012- Timea Babos(Hungry) beat Alexandra Cadantu(Romania).

2011- Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova(Russia) beat Jelena Jankovic(Serbia) in the Monterrey Open.

2010- Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova(Russia) beat Daniela Hantuchova(Slovakia).

2009- Marion Bartoli(France) beat Li Na(China) in the 1st edition of Monterrey Tournament.

If you enjoyed this post, leave a comment below.

I would be very grateful if you would share it with a friend.

Published : 12:11 PM, Mon, 2 March 2020

Mechanical Engineer .| Sports| Writing

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

About The Author


Solo Traveler, Interested In Feeding Birds and Animals, Like to watch all sports and Love to play Tennis, Badminton and Cricket, Passion for Cooking and Writing.
Translate »
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x